The Adventure of a Lifetime

like brothers in blood, sisters who ride

and we swore on that night we’d be friends ‘til we die

but the changing of winds, and the way waters flow

life as short as the falling of snow

and now I’m gonna miss you I know

This weekend, I got on a plane at 5am and flew from Detroit to Dallas where my two best friends picked me up at the airport for weekend. I feel like Briley and Camille have become that – “best friends from home” – when I talk about them to my friends in Michigan. This weekend was surreal for many reasons, and it is taking a lot in me to reflect on everything I’m feeling to put those feelings into words.

Moving so far away from home after high school was tough, and weird. It was weird to not be able to mention people from my high school or the traffic on Pinhook. It was weird to have “friends from home” and “friends from school” that felt like they were from two different lives. Growing up through middle and high school with Briley and Camille defined my life in Louisiana, and they’re truly the kind of friends that I can pick up with like it hasn’t been months or years since I’d seen them.

So we arrived in Dallas and met up with our friend Kelly (who I hadn’t seen in 2+ years) and even Hank (who I hadn’t seen since high school graduation) and explored TCU’s campus and then left for Arlington to the Cowboys Stadium for what we came here for – the Coldplay concert.

Now, before you judge. Let me take a step back. Coldplay music basically defined our friendship. I have fond memories of them singing Yellow to me during our sleepovers. We listened to Fix You a lot when we were hurting. I pre-ordered their new album for Briley and I months before it came out as a Christmas present for both of us. She came to visit my family in North Carolina and we sat on the couch screaming while watching the NBC special of the Ghost Stories album being performed in L.A. When I left Louisiana for good, Briley gave me a CD with a recording of her singing Yellow to me. I can’t count the number of times I sat in my car in Ann Arbor listening to that and sobbing. So, long story short, we love Coldplay and their music was the soundtrack to our friendship, and basically the soundtrack to the past 7+ years of my life.

IMG_6866.JPG

So, fast forward to about 9:30pm CST last night – Chris Martin plays the first few chords of Yellow, and hundreds of yellow balloons fall from the sides of the crowd. And I am stunned almost into silence. I am overwhelmed with so many feelings. I think of how much I have changed in the past 4 years, but how these women standing on each side of me were there with me through it all – even if they were 1,163 miles away the whole time. We are all doing such incredible things but such different things, and it’s so great to be able to support these women follow their dreams while they support me in following me.

There’s a line from one of Coldplay’s songs that goes, “And if we could float away, fly up to the surface and start again. And lift off before trouble just erodes us in the rain. Through chaos as it swirls, it’s us against the world.” Through everything we’ve done together and everything we’ve done since we went our separate ways, I always knew that you were only a text or call or Facetime away for me to talk to. I am so proud of both of you and everything you’ve done. Thank you for being my friends, and I’ll see you soon.

-SGx

646767709

Leave a Comment

