On the Blessings of Goodbyes

I found this adorable picture the other day on Pinterest:

 Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 3.51.26 PM 

The end of the school year came and went, and very quickly, all of my friends started to leave Ann Arbor and head back to their homes/internships/etc. I had decided to stay in the city this summer to work and get some research credit at a lab. I watched as one after the other said their farewells and left town in their parents’ SUVs for bigger and better things. All the while, I sat in the same room I have been in for the past ten months and thought about this Winnie the Pooh quote.

Isn’t it a great feeling to have someone to miss? Isn’t it a huge blessing to have a place to leave behind knowing that you will be overjoyed when you return? So as the tears fell down my face when my boyfriend left with his parents or one of my closest friends went off to camp for the summer, I reminded myself how blessed I am.

I have people to miss, and that is something I can’t trade for anything else. I have an incredible family and a group of friends that I can trust with anything. I have a really sweet boyfriend and I live under a roof with a group of people I would consider my family. I don’t always remember that stuff day to day.

I saw a video circulating around Facebook where they took two people sitting on each side of a wall. One person was just randomly pulled into the experiment. The other person was either a cancer patient or a family member of a cancer patient. The interviewers asked them the same questions, simple ones like, “If you could wish for anything to happen right now, what would it be?” and both people answered (unable to see each other). The answers to these questions were strikingly different. The one side answered typically with their goals, aspirations in life for themselves, or things they wanted to achieve. Then the person on the other side of the wall spoke wishes of healing and recovery. By the end of the video, the participants (and myself) were in tears. The video ended saying, “We do not appreciate life until we feel we may lose it. Appreciate the little things.”

So sometimes amidst the sadness or pain of a goodbye or a chapter ending, remember to stop and take it all in. Remind yourself of the little things that you have to be thankful for. There are blessings in sad goodbyes, because it’s great to have something that makes saying that goodbye so hard. 

One thought on “On the Blessings of Goodbyes

Leave a Comment

