On Not Ending my Song

music

I take my last exam of the semester on Tuesday morning, and I am spending a lot of time reflecting on this past semester and this past year. I am currently sitting on the balcony of the Great Wolf Lodge in Traverse City, Michigan writing this. I am volunteering at a retreat for military families in Northern Michigan for the weekend.

On my drive up here, I was listening to a playlist on my iPod and noticed something about my music taste. I have a tendency to really, really like the second verses of songs. I don’t know why. I just do. They always seem to appeal to me more than the first verse or the bridge or the chorus.

As I reflected on this, I realized that I could relate that to my life right now. I am in the second verse. I have come to that point of my life where I struggle to realize who I am and what I am doing here. Maybe that realization will come during the bridge –that’s where that usually happens in songs, right?

I have recently been re-watching all of the episodes of Doctor Who with my boyfriend, and when I thought about this concept, I thought of the Ood. The Ood were an alien race that lived solely to be slaves to the human race. They could not thrive or survive if they were not being given orders. The Ood make several appearances throughout the series, but in the final episode of David Tennant’s last season as The Doctor, an Ood appears to encourage Tennant into his regeneration. In this final speech to The Doctor, he says, “This song is ending, but the story never ends.” I will continue this story, and my second verse is a part of my story. 

I have learned a lot and experienced a lot this year. I really, truly started to figure out what I want to do with my life. I, for the first time in my life, realized what my talents were (these do not include snapping or singing). I traveled and I grew. I spent a week in Guatemala alone volunteering with a school for mentally disabled children. I spent a semester working with kids in a therapeutic setting that I absolutely fell in love with. I was offered an official volunteer position with an organization that means a lot to me. These are all in my second verse.

As this semester comes to a close, I look forward to living in this second verse. The bridge and the final chorus have yet to come, and they are going to be fantastic.

 dreamer

 

Leave a Comment

